Seasoned Criminal Defense Lawyer Serving Georgia Clients Charged with Drunk Driving
In the state of Georgia, driving under the influence is not something to be taken lightly. Penalties depend on a wide variety of factors — whether or not you’ve had a prior DUI, for example, or whether or not someone was injured due to your driving drunk. Regardless of the particulars of your case, you need seasoned, reliable legal counsel. If you are currently facing DUI charges, consult a premier Dalton DUI attorney today.
Penalties For Your First DUI Offense
In the state of Georgia, DUI penalties are divided into two categories: Administrative and Criminal. Penalties in the former category include a year-long license suspension, though this may be reduced to 120 days if you complete an alcohol reduction course. Penalties in the latter category include at least 24 hours in jail, a mandatory alcohol treatment course and a fine ranging from $300 to $1,000.
Georgia state law allows you to reduce your first DUI charge to one of reckless driving. Keep in mind, however, that your record will continue to show a DUI charge, and you may end up receiving a punishment similar to that accompanying a DUI conviction.
Over 20 Years of DUI Defense Experience On Your Side
Attorney Ralph M. Hinman understands that being charged with a DUI, while indisputably serious, shouldn’t mean that you spend the rest of your life paying the price. Law enforcement officials routinely make mistakes when operating in the field, from pulling you over without cause to improperly administering a field sobriety test. If you have recently been accused of driving under the influence, call Ralph M. Hinman, Attorney at Law as soon as possible.